arco collaborative


Shared Madness

Shared Madness is a project that explores the relationship between the violinist and the instrument. While Paganini wrote a landmark set of 24 caprices that explored the relationship of virtuosity on the violin at the beginning of the 19th century, this group of composers will explore the meaning of virtuosity in the 21st century. We will continue to expand this project to explore the meaning of virtuosity in other art forms. (Launches May 2016)


Samuel Adams (United States, b. 1985)
Timo Andres (United States, b. 1985)
Matthew Aucoin (United States, b. 1990)
Jean-Baptiste Barrière (France, b. 1958)
Derek Bermel (United States, b. 1967)
Lisa Bielawa (United States, b. 1968)
Daníel Bjarnason (Iceland, b. 1979)
David Bruce (United States, b. 1970)
Chris Cerrone (United States, b. 1984)
Anthony Cheung (United States, b. 1982)
Bryce Dessner (United States, b. 1976)
Zosha di Castri (Canada, b. 1985)
Philip Glass (United States, b. 1937)
Michael Gordon (United States, b. 1956)
Mark Grey (United States, b. 1967)
John Harbison (United States, b. 1938)
Vijay Iyer (United States, b. 1971)

Gabriel Kahane (United States, b. 1981)
Phil Kline (United States, b. 1953)
David Lang (United States, b. 1957)
David Ludwig (United States, b. 1974)
James Matheson (United States, b. 1970)
Missy Mazzoli (United States, b. 1980)
Eric Nathan (United States, b. 1983)
Marc Neikrug (United States, b. 1946)
Andrew Norman (United States, b. 1979)
Christopher Rountree (United States, b. 1983)
Frederic Rzewski (United States, b. 1938)
Kaija Saariaho (Finland, b. 1952)
Esa-Pekka Salonen (Finland, b. 1958)
Sean Shepherd (United States, b. 1979)
Noam Sivan (Israel, b. 1978)
Augusta Read Thomas (United States, b. 1964)
Julia Wolfe (United States, b. 1958)


Jennifer Koh's Shared Madness Web Series

WQXR's Q2 Music premieres violinist Jennifer Koh's new online series, in which she converses with a diverse range of 30 dynamic, leading composers who contributed music to her Shared Madness project.
Every weekday from June 5 through July 14 at