arco collaborative



Through duo commissions performed by violinist Jennifer Koh and the composers themselves, Limitless celebrates the collaborative relationship between composer and performer, while also exploring the historical role of the composer as performer. This spirit of collaboration contrasts with the conventional notion that composition and performance are discrete and detached parts of the musical process.

Limitless premieres in two programs at National Sawdust in Brooklyn, NY, on March 15 and 31, 2018, and the participating composers include:

Jennifer Koh (Photo: Lawrence K. Ho / Los Angeles Times)



March 15, 2018

*Zosha di Castri (piano)
Missy Mazzoli (synthesizer)
*Qasim Naqvi (electronics and keyboard)
*Lu Wang (electronics)



March 31, 2018

*Lisa Bielawa (voice)
*Vijay Iyer (piano)
*Tyshawn Sorey (percussion)
Nina Young (electronics)
*Du Yun (voice)

*World premieres commissioned by arco collaborative